top of page
  • Writer's picturefairisfoul

Discomfort swells (1.2.25-28)

Captain

As whence the sun 'gins his reflection Shipwrecking storms and direful thunders break, So from that spring whence comfort seem'd to come Discomfort swells.

Like the “sun[‘s] rays lulling us into a false sense of “comfort”, the moment of triumph over Macdonwald is made all but hollow by the Norwegian invasion. This passage picks up the play’s thematic concern with the disjuncture between appearances and reality, this time expressed through a conversation between joy and misery. Each line’s tone contrasts the last, with the fearful always seeming to have the last word – “reflection” gives way to “shipwracking”, “break” briefly brings the “spring”, before the punchy two-word blow of the final line – “discomfort swells” - sends the appearance of “comfort” reeling backwards towards a harsh reality. The symbol of the sun is one only mentioned a handful of times within the play, but its significance is defined by its contrast with upcoming death or despair: how morbid, that for either joy or misery to be significant, the other must exist as a counterweight.


- Ken

426 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I see thee yet (2.1.41-49)

MACBETH I see thee yet, in form as palpable As this which now I draw. Thou marshall'st me the way that I was going; And such an instrument I was to use. Mine eyes are made the fools o' the oth

Is this a dagger? (2.1.34-40)

MACBETH Is this a dagger which I see before me, The handle toward my hand? Come, let me clutch thee. I have thee not, and yet I see thee still. Art thou not, fatal vision, sensible To feeling as t

Men-children only (1.7.73-83)

MACBETH Bring forth men-children only; For thy undaunted mettle should compose Nothing but males. Will it not be received, When we have mark'd with blood those sleepy two Of his own chamber and used t

bottom of page